What I Am Thankful For

Five years ago, I graduated from Otterbein and didn’t have much a plan in place. I had a job and moved back to the area after being away for four years. I hadn’t planned on coming back and felt like I started all over again.

I moved back in with my parents and Friday nights in the fall didn’t feel the same for me. I had been involved with high school football for so many years and it felt strange not having to go out and announce a game or be apart of a TV taping on Friday nights. I would often catch Friday Night Fever at night and wondered how I could get involved once again.

The opportunity to get involved again came in the way of my digital camera. I showed up to the Solon vs Shaker Heights game a year after moving back with my camera. Photography had become a passion of mine as an undergrad and taking pictures for that game in Shaker Heights made me feel like I was filling the void. I started showing up to other games throughout that season and found my way to be involved again.

Solon football photography had become a passion of mine over the past few seasons but I was also itching to do another passion as well; play-by-play announcing. Doing play-by-play for radio and television had been something that had consumed my Friday nights (and sometimes Saturdays) since high school and I wondered if I would ever get the chance again.

Sure enough, that opportunity came this season when I received a phone call before Solon’s first home game from Jim McQuaide, son of Solon’s head coach Jim McQuaide. McQuaide mentioned SETV needed someone to do play-by-play for that week for the Glenville game and I volunteered right away. 

Walking into that pressbox for the Glenville game and taking the play-by-play spot next to my old broadcast partner Chuck Chokenea brought back great memories and a passion I was able to enjoy game. Working with Chuck has always been a pleasure and being the voices behind Solon football again has brought happiness back into my life.

I was a little rusty during that game against Glenville but have improved as the weeks have gone on.  It feels like Chuck and I have the same rapport we had back when I called games in high school. Being apart of the home games that way has given me something to look forward to.

Working with the SETV crew has been a pleasure as well. These are a great group of kids and a great advisory team and working with them has been a great experience. I want to thank them for their support.

I won’t have the microphone with me tonight against Hudson but will have my cameras. Even though I won’t be announcing, I am glad I get to use another passion of mine tonight.

 

~ by jeffrsabo on October 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
