Is Anyone Excited About The Indians?

Spring training for the Cleveland Indians has begun and while this has generated interest for Cleveland fans in the past, not many fans are optimistic about the upcoming season. The Indians did not do much in the free agent market and many are already writing off the team to finish in last place.

Despite the negative rumblings in regards to this year’s team, the return of baseball season excites me and some of my best memories growing up involved going to Indians games. The team may not win a lot of ball games this season but I still get a thrill out of going to the ballpark.

The Indians have had some rough seasons lately but sitting outside in the sun or on a nice warm night watching baseball game is one of my favorite things to do in the summer. An avid baseball fan since Progressive Field opened in 1994, I enjoy going to the ballpark a couple times of year to root on a team I grew up following and will root for despite the rough times.

While growing up during the glory years of the mid-to-late 90s, going to the ballpark was a thrill because I got to see Omar Vizquel, Kenny Lofton, Sandy Alomar and many others grace an Indians uniform and win many games for the city of Cleveland. Seeing these players and those who made those teams great were experiences that made me a true baseball and Indians fan.

During my college and post-college years, the Indians had a couple of rough seasons but going to an Indians game gave me an opportunity to catch up with family and friends. Once I got done with finals, I usually headed up for a weekend to visit my parents and would catch a baseball game with my dad. When I graduated college and moved back to Cleveland, one of my most favorite memories were my friends Jason and Vince driving up from Columbus to catch and Indians vs. Reds game. I hadn’t seen those two in a long time and watching a team we are all fans of inside that ballpark on a nice summer night was a fun experience to remember.

The Indians might struggle at the gate and on the field this season but the great memories I have watching the team will always remain with me. The team might not win when I go watch them inside Progressive Field this season but a good memory will come with that game.

~ by jeffrsabo on March 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
